Thursday, May 07, 2009

My India Series - I - Outline

Few countries in the world have such an ancient and diverse culture as India's, stretching back in an unbroken sweep over 5000 years.

India is the largest democracy, the second-most populous country, and the seventh-largest country by geographical area in the world.

Capital: New Delhi

Population : Over 1 billion (2001 Census)

Area : 32,87,263 square kilometers

Geographical Location : Lies between latitudes 8 ° 4' and 37 ° 6 ' north and longitudes 68 ° 7 ' and 97 ° 25' east

Coastal Length : 7,600 kilometers

Languages : 18 major languages, 1,652 dialects

Religions : India is a secular country and has no state religion. Religions represented in India include Hinduism (80.456%), Islam (13.434%), Christianity (2.341%), Sikhism ( 1.868%), Buddhism ( 0.773%), Jainism (0.411%) and religion not stated (0.07%).

National Anthem : Jan gana mana written by Rabindranath Tagore

Natioanl Emblem : Replica of the Lion Capital of Sarnath

National Flag : Horizontal tricolor in equal proportion of deep saffron on the top, white in the middle and dark green at the bottom. In the center of the white band is a wheel in navy blue color.

National Animal : Tiger, Panthera tigris

National Bird : Peacock

National Flower : Lotus

National Tree : Banyan

National Fruit : Mango

National Currency : Rupees (One Rupees=100 paise)

Political Structure : Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democratic Republic

Indian Union : 28 States and seven centrally administered Union Territories

Legislature : Parliament, consists of President and the two Houses, known as Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People )

Executive : Consists of President, Vice-President and Council of Ministers led by the Prime Minister

Judiciary : Independent of executive


Post a Comment